Loving Big

13 Feb

IMG_3257

About 30 minutes past bedtime, my son came to me.

“I had a bad thought.”

Laptop closed.

“What’s your bad thought?”

“What happens to people when they die?”

I let him continue rather than opening up a larger can of worms.

“Are they still here? Do they become other people? Are they in heaven?”

Instantly, I said yes, they are. They are still here. They are in heaven.

Who knows what the right answer is. And more importantly, who can really prove me wrong.

We hear what we want to hear. We hear what makes us sleep at night. We hear the things we want to tell our children so that they can sleep at night.

“Yes. When people die, they are still here. They go to be with people they love and haven’t seen in a while. They are just fine and they are all around us, keeping track of what we are doing and how we are and loving us from there.”

“Okay”

And he grabbed his beloved stuffed animal, Cocky Pancho (don’t ask, I don’t know!) and went back to his bed.

Pretty big question for a pretty small guy with a big mind and an even bigger heart.

We never know if we are giving them the right answers. We just hope we are giving them the strength and comfort to get through this life and the courage to love the biggest without worrying about that ultimate, terrible loss. Because that’s life and we should all live it.

6 Responses to “Loving Big”

  1. Heather Cai February 13, 2015 at 2:11 pm #

    For my experiences, I do believe in supernatural thing as I have viewed something that others don’t or wouldn’t believe me, but I am not the only one. I like this topic. My first English novel would also mention about such things too. They are real. I am proud of you having such a lovely “thoughtful” boy! 🙂

  2. imaz78 March 2, 2015 at 7:41 am #

    Reblogged this on imaz78.

  3. TheSimpleLife March 3, 2015 at 11:42 am #

    How sweet. Great response!

  4. Jim Wynn March 6, 2015 at 2:58 pm #

    This is fantastic. I read a few. They’re all fantastic. Rock on, Lisa!!!

Leave a Reply

