The Luxury of Watching Our Kids Dream

27 Aug

 

image1

 

My son is curled up beside me. He cannot sleep. This is the second or third night in a row. Always the same. He cannot sleep. He nestles in next to me, his head fitting perfectly in the spot between my neck and my chest, his legs wound around mine so many times I wonder if they are boneless. Within minutes, his breath deepens and slows. He is asleep.

I wonder how much longer it will be that I can provide this instant consolation for him. How much longer that he will let me. How much more time do I have of the luxury of watching him dream.

My friends have children going off to college. They are decorating dorm rooms, setting up proper desks, buying school supplies and filling meal cards, all the while trying to forget that their kids are leaving the nest and learning to fly on their own. It is hopeful and heartbreaking and wondrous and devastating all at the same time. I have watched these kids grow up; they are not even mine and still, I am struggling with the passage of even their time. Because soon, it will be my kids. I know that that is years away for me but I also know the way time works and that I have seemingly months. It is like trying to reverse the mileage on your car but there is no such magical gear and it is inevitably impossible. And at the same time, it is Life. And it is good.

He grabs a lock of my hair and rolls to the right. He is content. And so am I. And again, I watch him dream. Because I still can.

2 Responses to “The Luxury of Watching Our Kids Dream”

  1. roweeee August 27, 2015 at 3:00 pm #

    What a beautiful post. I love how you write about trying to reverse the mileage on your car when it comes to watching your kids grow up so fast.
    My son goes to high school next year. Can’t believe it and I feel like that Mum who was waving their little boy off to his first day at Big School all over again! xx Rowena

    • Lisa Goodwin August 28, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

      Thank you so much, Rowena! I understand you completely. xx

Leave a Reply

