Gratitude

26 Nov

Goodwin_casual-221

 

Possibly one of my top ten favorite words and something I try to keep in mind when confronted with things I’d prefer not to think about because things could always be worse:

G R A T I T U D E

Perspective is so important and today, like every day, I am so grateful for

  1. My children
  2. My husband
  3. My parents
  4. My brother
  5. My extended family
  6. My friends
  7. Good health
  8. James Taylor
  9. Licorice
  10. Music
  11. Warm chocolate chip cookies
  12. When Harry Met Sally
  13. Medicine and science
  14. Taxi
  15. The NYT crossword puzzle
  16. Laughter
  17. Words
  18. Not turkey — I could skip that
  19. Meatballs
  20. My pizza oven
  21. My grandparents. They were the best.
  22. A well told story
  23. Games of all kinds
  24. Good coffee
  25. The University of Michigan
  26. Shehecheyanu
  27. The gym (not while I’m there, only when I’m leaving)
  28. Frizz Ease
  29. Blow outs
  30. Public School
  31. Kindness
  32. Sunshine
  33. Pickles
  34. Bloody Marys
  35. The ocean
  36. My Kindle
  37. WordPress
  38. My GPS even though she sometimes sucks
  39. The freedoms granted to me in the Bill of Rights
  40. Love

Thank you so very much for reading and for your encouragement. I am grateful for you all.

Shehecheyanu.

One Response to “Gratitude”

  1. designpoolblog February 20, 2016 at 11:13 pm #

    L, I am grateful that I came across you through your writings this Sat. in February. It started on Facebook, and rang like a pinball machine every time I came across someone or something that….. made sense in the memory part of my brain. Because some memories are made to take up room for an important purpose, so were your first few sentences about your hair. It WAS you! I had a special place for it, Helene’s praises about the hair all of you inherited from your grandmother, and she could never have. You and I didn’t talk much during our younger years, but I remember all of the times our families spent together, and seeing your hair amongst all the other heads in Sandy’s living room. You were lucky to have had it, for in memories it makes for great visuals. So, while I read about your dealings with your hair, all these memories came back, remembering who you were and wondering how you and your family are.

    I read about the fire, saw a picture of your bathroom wallpaper as a memento, and saying to myself “yes, it makes sense” that she would have chosen the Ralph Lauren style of decorating. All of us did, or the “all” I have been fortunate enough to have run across on social media. Helene, Susie and I have needed to talk about you and Sandy, Sue and Carol from time to time, and some of our questions were answered this way. And when I am in Florida, I visit my father and my 2nd mother, Sandy, their names engraved “In Memory Of’ being the only thing I can really touch. Their resting place makes memories that are so important that I am grateful someone really did pave paradise and put up “a memory lot”.
    I still have pants of Sandy’s that range from a size 3 to a size 12, in perfect condition, because I, like her, have been so obsessed with weight that it never stays the same long enough to make creases in the knees.

    I read about your son, his illness concerning Lymphoma, and not knowing how to react except for sadness, and gladness, that he was able to take his first IV treatment. I don’t know what is wrong, but all along I have been wondering about Sue and not about him. As the sun sets in Chattanooga, I need to stop writing because of an appointment, but know that your family #2 remembers you and the things you have done that warranted talking about (including your hair). Will write more soon, with gratitude for your creativity and putting your life on line for people like me who have lost track of you. And, introducing me to wordpress.com for I, like you, want people to know through reading.

    Luv, B (with the blonde hair that people remember me by).

Leave a Reply

